Monday, June 20, 2011

June 17, 2011


More than 360 people were nominated and formally recognized today at the 13th annual Manitoba Service Excellence Awards for their exceptional contributions as part of their work for the Manitoba government and their communities, Premier Greg Selinger announced today.
“Manitoba’s workers provide important services and information to residents and communities and these award recipients are an inspiration to us all,” Selinger said.  “The recipients are nominated by their co-workers which are a testament to their abilities in working together for the greater good.”
A total of 331 government employees and 33 non-government staff were honoured for their special efforts.  This year, there were 41 nominations in seven categories.  This year’s recipients are:
  • Community Service Award -Sean Brennan, Manitoba Justice.
  • Innovation Award -  Manitoba Student Financial Aid Information System.
  • Leadership Award -Janet Fontaine, Manitoba Health.
  • Service Excellence Individual Award -Wayne Hildebrand, Manitoba Water Stewardship.
  • Service Excellence Team Award -CentrePlace Manitoba Team (Vancouver 2010 and Paralympic Games).
  • Partnership Award -enhanced telehealth capacity for child and adolescent mental health consultation to the north.
  • Premier’s Career Achievement Award -Shaunda Rossington, Manitoba Agriculture, Food and Rural Initiatives.
“Each and every day, these exceptional individuals or teams demonstrate their creativity and determination and their efforts make a huge contribution to society as a whole,” said Finance Minister Rosann Wowchuk, minister responsible for the Civil Service Commission, adding recipients are nominated by co-workers for their outstanding contributions as government employees and community volunteers.
The Manitoba Service Excellence Awards were established through Service Quality Partners and were presented for the first time in 1999.
                                                                                      - 30 -

No comments: